NDF Advisory Committee

Spring 2021 Advisory Committee Meeting: 4/13/2021, 9:00am – 12:00pm

This committee was formed in 2016 to achieve greater integration between NDF programs, as well as State & Private Forest programs sponsored by the US Forest Service. This single committee meets the Federal requirement for two individual groups organized under the Urban and Community Forestry as well as Stewardship and Legacy programs.



The committee provides a streamlined process for all State & Private Forest program guidance and advice, and which will lead to greater efficiency and synergism among program areas, stakeholders, and cooperators. Representation has been expanded to include representation from fire professionals, local government decision makers, environmental groups, academia, and others. The committee meets twice per year, and members serve for a two year term. The group will serve NDF in the following capacities:

  • To ensure a greater degree of integration between all NDF programs and enhance the interaction between communities, private landowners, related interest groups and local, state and federal government agencies.
  • To assist with state strategic planning through providing input into updating and revising the Forest Action Plan.
  • To broaden the reach of NDF’s Forest Stewardship, Forest Health, Forest Legacy, Urban & Community Forestry, and Community Fire Protection programs to maximize their value.
  • To help focus limited resources from NDF and other organizations on areas and topics that are most valuable for natural resource conservation and desired by the public.
  • To enhance the quality of grant proposal ideas and completed proposals received from formal solicitations, and increase award success of submitted proposals.
  • To provide guidance for the Forest Legacy Program.

Current Committee Members

  • Coreen Francis, Forestry Program Lead, Bureau of Land Management
  • Duncan Leao, Silviculturist and Vegetation/Fuel Program Manager, US Forest Service
  • Kelly McGowan, Program Manager, Sagebrush Ecosystem Technical Team
  • Dale Wisniewski, Southern Nevada Urban and Community Forestry Representative
  • Jasmine Kleiber, MS, Technical Review Program Lead, Nevada Department of Wildlife
  • Doug Martin, Co-chair, Pinyon-Juniper Partnership
  • Jake Tibbits, Treasurer, Nevada Association of Conservation Districts
  • Janet Valle, Regional Office Liaison, US Forest Service
  • Tina McKeand, Project Manager, Davey Resource Group
  • Dick Post, Nevada Shade Tree Council, Sierra Nevada Chapter
  • Clifford Banuelos, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada/Tribal-State Environmental Liaison
  • Trina Johnson, USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service, Nevada

Committee Resources

Use the links below to access additional documents, data, applications, and external websites related to the NDF Advisory Committee.

NDF Advisory Meeting Notice Agenda (April 2021)